Green Building Illustrated

$82.95

Please note: This product is currently not in stock, we will order it in for you.

Add to Wishlist

Additional information

ISBN 9781119653967
Author

Ching, Francis D. K.

Publisher

Edition

2nd

Binding

Paperback

Weight 0.898 kg
Dimensions 1.5 × 21.4 × 28.5 cm

Description

FULLY ILLUSTRATED, UPDATED GUIDE TO THE STRATEGIC DESIGN OF GREEN BUILDINGS

In the tradition of Building Construction Illustrated, Francis D.K. Ching and Ian M. Shapiro offer a fully illustrated guide to the theory and practice of sustainable design. This guide provides architects, designers, and builders in the green design professional community a framework and detailed strategies for designing substantively green buildings. With a focus on sustainable sites, approaching and reaching net-zero energy, low and zero-water usage, minimum-impact materials and superior indoor environmental quality, this guide explains why we need to build green, as well as green building theory and advancements in the industry. This Second Edition includes:

All-new case studies featuring geographically diverse buildings with proven zero energy performance

Expanded coverage of zero energy building design, as well as zero water and zero waste buildings

Practical guidance for the schematic design of high-performance buildings, heating and hot water system selection, building envelope details, and integrating renewable energy

Advanced strategies, such as the concept of shape efficiency, and the optimal location for stairwells in buildings

Additional strategies for affordability in green design and construction

Updated references to the latest codes and standards

This Second Edition of Green Building Illustrated is an excellent resource for professionals, students and those interested in the design and construction of sustainable buildings.

About the author
FRANCIS D.K. CHING is a leading global authority on architectural drawing. His numerous bestselling works have been translated into 20 languages and are regarded as classics for their renowned graphic presentation. He is Professor Emeritus at the University of Washington in Seattle. IAN M. SHAPIRO is the founder and co-owner of Taitem Engineering, an award-winning consulting firm he founded in 1989. He has been a visiting lecturer at Cornell University, Tompkins-Cortland Community College, and Syracuse University. He is also the author of Energy Audits and Improvements for Commercial Buildings (Wiley, 2016). Ian is a licensed engineer in New York, Pennsylvania, and Connecticut.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Stay updated, discover new books and special offers. Sign up now!

Product Enquiry.

Fill in your details below and we will contact you with details about this product.

Product Enquiry